To use chat, please login.
Back to contacts

ZuluTrade Review Scores


Overall score: 2.7 / 5

Total votes: 140
Profitability
1
Platform
1
Pricing
1
Customer service
1
1 - worst 5 - best

ZuluTrade Discussion

Kentegroup
Aug 02 2010 at 18:33
19 posts
Tested them out for 8 months and could never make money, providers have to churn out trades to make money, so they usually have tiny take profits and huge stops, and one day poof, the best provider wipes out his demo along with your live. He them moves on and does it again with a different name. Hunter was the most responsible one I found on there, but trades sparingly. It's a good setup if they could police it better and use some of the suggestions above.

AussieTrader
michigansurveys
Aug 02 2010 at 20:19
31 posts
I think the biggest reason zulutrade gets a bad rap is that it is way to easy for the inexperienced to lose all of thier money quickly. I play both sides of the coin with zulutrader, as a provider and as an investor. It is frustating as a provider to see investers receiving your signals lose money on trades simply because they don't allow enough positions to be taken, or they set the lot sizes so big that they margin out. One of the biggest reason is the lack of information about how the systems trade. They used to allow the system providers to describe their systems, but I beleive the it was decided that was giving financial advice, which is a no-no.
I agree that there are some systems on zulu that are horendous with unrealistic stops and massive drawdowns. But there are some very good systems on there if you can weed through all of the crap. I personally only trade systems other than my own that are run with an EA, that have a reasonable drawdown, and after I dig through the tadeing history. Sure I make more money trading my own EA directly, but I have made 421 pips in the last 30 days on zulutrade.

stevetrade (stevetrade)
Aug 02 2010 at 21:09
1408 posts
I agree that ignorance is one of the general reasons people fail on ZuluTrade. Greed is the other.

However it's easy enough to direct people to a web page without actually directing them to a web address. My description was passed and I used to tell people to search for my blog for more information. My blog has detailed set up details that allow users to set the risk exactly as they want it.


11:15, restate my assumptions: 1. Mathematics is the language of nature. 2. Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers. 3. If you graph these numbers, patterns emerge. Therefore: There are patterns everywhere in nature.
K
88cefiro
Aug 03 2010 at 01:29
19 posts
Problem is that even after you (subscriber) set up risk properly most of the providers on there are down right useless.

E.G.: (unnamed 'swing trader' A)
Provider uses worst case of 500pip stops while your watching him, and seems to work okay. So you add him and set 500pip stop =1% of balance. Next thing you know the trades go against him and he moves it back to 6000pip+. Suddenly your heading for a 12% loss X multiple trades = Margin call / massive loss depending when you cut them off.

(unnamed 'Swing trader' B)
States how instead of using 1 or 2 positions he wants followers to use 20 much smaller positions so he can average in. Funny thing is when you watch him he opens all 20 positions at the same time/level (what happened to averaging?). Again just like 'A' he also uses 500pip stops and moves them back when they look like getting hit. Even if you set this guy up to be using .5% per trade (20X.5%=10% max risk across all trades) when he moves his stops 2000pips back to preserve his stats you end up with 40%+ risk. Crap ! Whats even funnier about this guy is everytime he clogs up an account he opens a new one, so he can always trade one while his subscribers on the others are stuck with floating losses.

And then scalpers have the problem of slippage or worse yet trades not closing or trader scalping using a 500+ stop :S. after slippage and commisions (assuming they never hit the stops / no trade closing errors) its still not worth having a scalper.


will schaarrand
pipinvestment0
Aug 03 2010 at 02:20
59 posts

stevetrade posted:
    I started out providing my signals on ZuluTrade. One of the things that is scary about them is that anybody can sign up and provide signals, nobody tests their systems first. So there are all sorts of terrible practices going on there. Providers just open up a massive demo account and then leave trades open until they turn into a profit. Applied to real accounts these trades end up wiping your account.

They are also not 100% reliable. I had a friend trading my signals who did not get some stop losses placed. One of my trades cost his account 16% of his balance when he was only risking 1% per trade.

Horrible, horrible, horrible. Stay well away from ZuluTrade


You could not have said this any clearer or More Precise. The first time I was on their site, I figured out that ZULU is not a reliable source for Profitable Signals. I am sure you can Get a lot of SIGNALS. But reliable and profitable signals were Way to hard to filter out. I personally wouldn't trust this site.

''One of the things that is scary about them is that anybody can sign up and provide signals, nobody tests their systems first''

Very True.. Check Out Zipsignals... YOU HAVE TO BE APPROVED TO PROVIDE A RELIABLE AND PROFITABLE SIGNAL.

I believe that all the current Signal Providers are ALL MANUAL TRADERS, NO EA's... However, sadly, this will all change do to the fact that Zipsignals is Now being Promoted HERE.

itasterix (itasterix)
Aug 23 2010 at 07:57
15 posts

stevetrade posted:
    I started out providing my signals on ZuluTrade. One of the things that is scary about them is that anybody can sign up and provide signals, nobody tests their systems first. So there are all sorts of terrible practices going on there. Providers just open up a massive demo account and then leave trades open until they turn into a profit. Applied to real accounts these trades end up wiping your account.

They are also not 100% reliable. I had a friend trading my signals who did not get some stop losses placed. One of my trades cost his account 16% of his balance when he was only risking 1% per trade.

Horrible, horrible, horrible. Stay well away from ZuluTrade


It is exactly what I think about this platform ... !! Nice review !

bluemele
Aug 23 2010 at 19:44
272 posts
stevetrade posted:
    I started out providing my signals on ZuluTrade. One of the things that is scary about them is that anybody can sign up and provide signals, nobody tests their systems first. So there are all sorts of terrible practices going on there. Providers just open up a massive demo account and then leave trades open until they turn into a profit. Applied to real accounts these trades end up wiping your account.

They are also not 100% reliable. I had a friend trading my signals who did not get some stop losses placed. One of my trades cost his account 16% of his balance when he was only risking 1% per trade.

Horrible, horrible, horrible. Stay well away from ZuluTrade


Steve,

Curious on your 'name' for Zulu. I probably lost money with you! Just kidding. I actually did decent but the server disconnects ended up costing me 30% on my account. No joke. It was 'a joke' and they tell you that they will refund you. THEY WON'T! They just lie lie lie...all the way to the bank! I did signals on there also, but just playing around and if anyone did sign up I would have stopped using it, but it was fun to see how accurate their servers are on my signals sent.

:)

Be Open, honest and ethical and all the $$$ you want will come. (hint hint)
stevetrade (stevetrade)
Aug 24 2010 at 07:26
1408 posts
Everything I do relating to trading is always in the Stevetrade moniker. Fortunately nobody other than friends lost money with me due to ZuluTrade making mistakes and it was only 'play' money that they lost before we discovered it was a bad site.

11:15, restate my assumptions: 1. Mathematics is the language of nature. 2. Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers. 3. If you graph these numbers, patterns emerge. Therefore: There are patterns everywhere in nature.
markopolo
Aug 25 2010 at 08:02
49 posts
I have been reading your comments about zulutrade and i wanted to post my comments too. If you take out the promotion zipsignals is trying to do by posting bad reviews about zulu (i have seen similar posts in other forums), for me the truth is somewhere in the middle.
Yes I use them too, but after a lot of testing. Its true that most signal providers are amateur traders, its very difficult to find a serious one. This is why i want to emphasize how important testing is.
I used the following method: tested about 30 signal providers, in different demos, all with custom stop values. It took me about 5 months to separate the good ones from the bad ones.
After the testing, I opened a small $1000 micro-lot account. Ive put only 3 of the providers I found good and only allowed them to trade 2 lots at the same time.
I dont say I got rich from zulu, if anyone claims this he has no idea about the forex market.
Also, about the EAs that are promoted here. Every EA that I have tested so far has been a catastrophe for me, so I have stopped believing that a simple 'robot' can make even the slightest pips and only cost like $50-60...

stevetrade (stevetrade)
Aug 25 2010 at 08:48
1408 posts
If you put the effort in to find the right traders then I'm sure in concept ZuluTrade could be profitable. However this does not remove the fact that they have technical glitches in there platform.

As I said in my initial post a friend of mine lost 16% of his account that should have been 1% trading my signals as ZuluTrade did not place a stop loss on his side of the trade. If he had not been occasionally checking his trades then he could easily have wiped.

No matter how much effort you put in to finding the right traders if the platform is flawed then it shouldn't be used. A mirror signal system has to be 100% watertight. This is people's money we are talking about here.

I must admit I do agree with you on the EA's, anything under $100 is trash.


11:15, restate my assumptions: 1. Mathematics is the language of nature. 2. Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers. 3. If you graph these numbers, patterns emerge. Therefore: There are patterns everywhere in nature.
Please login to comment .